Comte Fondue

Having lived in the French Alps for over 2.5 years of my life, I am not unfamiliar with cheesy meals that are typical for Savoyard cuisine. There are many different varieties that are popular to eat after a day of skiing or on a cold day. A few good options are Cheese Fondue, Raclette, or Tartiflette. A few weeks ago I decided to go out to a great restaurant in my neighborhood, Le Bouchon Montagnard, that is known for it’s Savoyard cuisine.

Comté happens to be my favorite semi-hard French cheese. I discovered it at the market when I studied in France in 2002. For 8 years, it was my quest to find the same rich flavor and crunchy bits in the United States. I never succeeded and realized that the one in France is special primarily because it is unpasteurized and can be found in different aging categories. Generally Comté is aged between 12-24 months. However, my favorite is aged 36 months and that can be found at the best cheese shop in Grenoble- Les Alpages on Rue de Strasbourg.

Typically, Fondue is made with a blend of cheeses, wine and some seasonings. When I saw that we could get a Comté Fondue, I knew that I would have to throw my diet out the window and go for it! My friend and I decided to go with the caramelized onions and charcuterie sides. We were not disappointed.

As with any French meal, we went for half of a liter of house red wine (it’s always a safe bet while you are in France…and reasonably priced!).

If you find yourself in Grenoble and are looking for a typical mountain meal in a great neighborhood, I recommend this restaurant. They have great customer service and a charming environment. The restaurant is entirely family run by a friendly husband and wife and their two college aged children.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: France

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a comment